top of page

A message from our Kindred Elite


KINDRED The Travesty of the Legal Abuse, Drugging and Desperate Situation of Children Without Care Ride or Die ‪#‎fostercare‬ Reform We Are All ‪#‎KINDRED‬

Written by co-star of KINDRED, Bonfire Sinner.

I spent at least a decade, if not 2, wanting to die. It wasn’t a cry for attention, but a yearning for the pain to end when I didn’t know how else to escape it. I wasn’t equipped with the coping skills or the checks and balances I’ve now developed to make sure I don’t let my brain go into where it developmentally learned to go. I still have some pretty nasty melt downs that most of you are not privy to. I know they go with the territory, and I have fail-safes to ensure I don’t do any further harm to myself. Worst case, there is a lot of crying and maybe a hangover. I barely ever drink, and I barely ever cry. It is pretty bad, when it is bad.

Many of us have had really screwed up childhoods. I know that. Mine is a little different in that I barely had the sense of “home” or “parents”. I have been passed off as other people’s problem, if not my own. But, what happens when there really is “no other” people? Whose problem are we? By allowing us to disappear, we are perceived as no-ones. We perceive ourselves as no-ones. We are our own problems we have somehow created by choosing to keep breathing, as we didn’t ask to exist.

I’ve busted my ass beyond what many people are willing to do to have the little bit I have. The little bit I have- a car titled for a 12 year old car with many repairs, an apt. in the student district, $100,000 in college loans, cancer, auto immunes that keep piling up, a medically induced bankruptcy… all of which amounts to a life I’ve learned to live to the fullest. I live a life well spent.

Please, please, please, take 5 minutes, and if you can, 5 dollars to consider that I am not the norm when it comes to foster care. I have no delicate way of putting that, without going into details you don’t want to think about. Believe me, I avoid them the best I can- and I lived it. I will tell you, if you ask, but most of you don’t want to think about the details.

What if you had no parents? What if your children had no parents? What if “family” was something the government paid for to care for those you love? What if everything as you know it taught you there was on one you could trust…? 5 minutes. 5 dollars. Please help my interview and message, along with others, be heard.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/kindred#/story


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page